Announcing my February Health Month goals!

If you’ve ever wanted to make changes in your life and haven’t been able to stay motivated, you should check out HealthMonth.com.  Create an account, pick some healthy measurable goals that you want to achieve, then play the game.  Of course winning requires you to meet some of your goals.

Every month, you can choose a new set of goals for yourself.  Here are the goals I selected for the month of February….

Given rules by definition of a non-smoking vegan:

1.  No red meat or pork
2.  No dairy
3.  No fish
4.  No tobacco

And the more challenging ones:

5.  Eat raw fruit at least 4 days a week
Although I’m vegan, it takes a conscious effort to open the fridge and grab an apple or orange out of the fruit drawer.  Right now I throw frozen fruit into my smoothies, but because it’s frozen, it’s technically not considered “raw”.

6.  Eat brightly colored vegetables at least 4 days a week
I probably already do this pretty well, but I don’t keep track of it.  I throw a boatload of vegetables into everything I cook, plus I always make sure that  I’m eating well-balanced veg meals.  I want to make sure I track these foods this month just to make sure.

7.  Cook dinner 3 days a week
I love to cook veg meals, and I try not to eat out or make “instant” meals that are loaded with sodium and other unknowns.  So I want to make sure that I’m cooking whole meals at home as much as possible.

8.  Take a multivitamin at least 3 times a week
I’m horrible at taking multivitamins and I’m not really sure why.  I’m making this a priority this month!

9.  Get enough Vitamin D at least 2 days a week
No one living in Ohio in the dead of winter produces enough Vitamin D naturally from sun exposure.  Everyone should be taking a Vitamin D supplement.  The last time I had a blood panel (which I also recommend everyone do!), the only thing bad measurement was my Vitamin D levels.  My doc prescribed 50,000 IUs twice a week, so my goal is to take my supplement.  Milk alternatives and multivitamins also have a healthy amount added.>

10.  Drink at least 30 glasses of water a week
I don’t drink enough water because I really don’t like doing it.  It’s bland and plain and I’m finicky about the temperature and yuck! BUT… It’s an essential part of being a healthy functional living organism, so I guess I should drink more of it.  You’re supposed to drink 8 glasses a day (56 glasses a week), but I need to start somewhere and 30 is the magic number for me.

11.  Exercise for at least 30 minutes at least 2 days a week
We all have to start somewhere!  I’m unemployed, go to bed late, wake up late, and stay in my PJs all day.  That doesn’t mean I don’t do anything, because I’m cleaning and cooking and applying for jobs and stuff, but all that does not require much physical exertion.  I need to exercise more.  I’m taking a dance class that meets every Saturday, so at least one more day of hard cardio should be a good start.

12.  Allow 3 alcoholic drinks a week
This normally isn’t a problem unless it’s a week that I decide to go out with friends.  It also helps that red wine is the exception in this category!

13.  Floss at least 3 days a week
I’m bad at flossing.  I think I have good oral hygiene and my dentist agrees, but I’m just not motivated to floss every day.  It’s boring and I’m always cutting off the circulation in my fingertips.  I think 3 days a week is a good foundation, and also of course after eating popcorn!

14.  Read a book for at least 30 minutes 3 days a week
I enjoy reading, but I don’t do enough of it.  Yes, I read plenty of blogs, articles, and job postings online, but I need to get my face out of a screen and into a good ol’ fashioned book.  Currently on my nightstand: Bedwetter by Sarah Silverman.  Freaking hilarious.

15.  Go to bed before 2 AM at least 4 days a week
My sleep schedule is shifted from the norm by a few hours.  It’s something I’ve always done when I was allowed to do it (i.e., while in college), and now that I’m unemployed I’ve been consistently falling out around 3-4 AM.  I don’t have a problem with it, but apparently it’s not within the acceptable social norm, so I guess I should start conforming.  But just for the record, just because I’m on a different sleep cycle doesn’t make me lazy!  (For some reason people think that, and I disagree since I’m just as alert at night as most people are during the day.)  I looked it up on Wikipedia, and it’s called Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome (DSPS).  Yay for self-diagnoses!

I would love to follow more people on HealthMonth.com to stay motivated, so if this sounds interesting to you, go sign up, go to my profile, follow me, and I’ll return the favor!  Good luck on your 2011 resolutions!

One response to “Announcing my February Health Month goals!

  1. hello..i see u in my friend’s profile on health month…
    please sponsored me too..
    i really want to play in march!!
    healthy together…hhi

    regards!

Leave a Reply

