Easy “Feel Better” Soup

So, life happened.  I got married, and did you really think that I was even concerned about taking 5 minutes out of the reception to take pictures of the veg meals?  Yeah, right, I completely forgot.  I’m sure if you’ve been married, you understand!

This week I had the flu.  I’m currently unemployed, so I’m pretty much on my own during the day.  The hubby works all day, and although he is a wonderful husband and would probably do it if I asked him to, it’s not fair for me to ask him to make me a meal when he gets home while I’ve been lounging around in my PJs all day.  I wasn’t feeling well, but when I started to have an appetite I decided to make some of my “feel better” soup.  It’s obviously not chicken soup, but more of a vegetable and noodle concoction.  “Feel Better” soup seems to be the most appropriate name, since it’s warm, has good stuff in it, is comfy, and no matter how you feel it just seems to make you feel better.

I do different things here and there so it comes out a little different every time.  Once you start making it, you realize that you can just start throwing random stuff from the fridge in it, and add “dashes” of this and “pinches” of that.  Note that you can substitute or add just about any different vegetable; the below are just some suggestions.  To make this soup even easier, I sometimes just take a cup of frozen mixed vegetables; it’s delicious and there’s no need to cut them up!

Easy “Feel Better” Soup (inspired by Toddler Soup)
Serves about 6

1-2 tbsp. olive oil
1 1/2 cup diced vegetables (i.e., carrots, peas, corn, celery)
1/3 cup sliced mushrooms
3 cloves garlic
2 quarts Better Than Bouillon No Chicken broth
2 bay leaves
1 tsp. cumin
1 tbsp. thyme
1 cup small dry pasta of your choice (i.e., macaroni, fucilli)
1 cup of shredded greens (i.e., kale, spinach)
salt & pepper

 

 

In a stock pot, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add your vegetables and mushrooms and sauté for about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and sauté for an additional minute.  Add the “no chicken” broth.  (Instead of making the broth from the concentrated form separately, you can add just 2 quarts of water to your vegetables and when it’s boiling, add the concentrated paste.)  Add bay leaves, cumin, and thyme and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, throw in the pasta and cook until tender.  When the pasta is a few minutes from being fully cooked, add the shredded greens so they can tenderize while the pasta is finishing cooking.  Season to taste, and you’re good to go!

Easy "Feel Better" Soup

Leave a Reply

